http://www.ted.com/talks/chip_kidd_designing_books_is_no_laughing_matter_ok_it_is.html

Book cover is the first thing you notice if you are into first impressions and who is not?

And I am afraid I do judge a book by its cover, very much so. Let me give you a few random examples:-

Falling_For_The_Player_3_14_2013_11_32_48_PM

This must be a chick book– and I will not even consider opening it.

First_Murder_3_14_2013_6_16_41_PM

This is obviously some murder mystery? Well now I will look to see if I can learn more about the author and maybe there is a summary of the plot.

Still_Life__A_Novel_3_14_2013_2_52_04_AM

Another mystery? But here I know something of the author ….so yes I am biased and I will probably buy the book.

The_Clear_Light_of_Day__A_Nove_3_14_2013_12_53_11_AM

Quite a smart cover and I will be interested.

The_Billionaire_s_Marriage_Pro_1_23_2013_11_49_49_AM

Forget it!

North river1_

A very good author , very good novel and a very good cover. I am overdoing good here

🙂

But mostly I enjoy non-fiction, history and biographies etc. and then the cover usually does not make so much difference. It usually is professionally done.

napoleon